top of page

1950s Style Illustration


Hey there! We had the loveliest thunderstorm last night which also made my sleep quality go down, but it was the coziest thing! My window was open a bit so I could hear the thunder and the pouring rain. And whenever my room would light up I'd unconsciously count to hear the thunder to determine how far away lightning struck...eight seconds--okay eight miles away. Whew! (Also I'd wonder in the back of my mind where that method ever came from--it must be a myth!)


Back to the main topic here--this flight attendant! I randomly painted this (I'm guessing to get rid of paint on my palette) and it reminds me of old kids' books from the 50s and 60s. Growing up my mom had vintage books that I loved. The illustrators used a lot of line art and very limited color palettes. I'm kinda a maximalist when it comes to a lot of areas of life and it's the same here--I'm intimidated to stick to two, three, or four colors. Neither way is wrong, but less color can be really impactful and clean.


Side note: Flight attendants seem like the most put-together people! Who manages to look that good while at 35,000 feet?!


Hope your Labor Day Weekend is lovely!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page