top of page

Farmhouse Kitchen

farmhouse kitchen

I’ve been practicing drawing background scenes lately. I realized they are one of those things I avoid drawing mainly because I don’t know how, kind of like when you draw a person’s hands in their pockets 🙂

One thing that is really hard to pin down is symmetry, straight lines, and shadows. I am very lazy and I don’t like to use a straightedge. As for shadows, I just haven’t paid that much attention to them. They’re secondary for me. Especially with line drawings. Usually my illustrations start out as pencil drawings, which doesn’t help as far as dimension goes.

And the amount of details! It’s crazy how much time I spent on this kitchen drawing compared to other sketches. I’m afraid of details, like I’m afraid of failure.

But the only way to improve is to practice.

I used a Country Living picture as a reference.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

November 2019 Update

Hey there! Count yourselves lucky to get a blog post (sorry, no images) because we're in full calendar & bazaar mode. I've spent quite a few evenings puttering & hustling around preparing for our firs

bottom of page