top of page

Forsythia – Flower Series No. 14

Last spring I was obsessed with forsythia. I’m not sure how many illustrations I posted of this cheery flower…

The painting above was just a simple illustration with no sketch. It’s amazing how no forethought can lead to surprisingly lively designs. It’s easier to see creativity behind it. Maybe it is in the imperfections.

This painting above was the opposite of the first one. I sketched it first, spent triple the amount of time painting it, but it is lacking somehow. It feels forced, stale, and generic. It’s not my style.

Maybe it’s the blue wash I attempted and failed at. (That particular skill isn’t in my repertoire!) Maybe it’s the complicated flowers, or choppy pencil marks.

Anyway, the important part in comparing these two illustrations is realizing one fits within my realm of creativity, skill, style, and interest…and the other doesn’t.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

November 2019 Update

Hey there! Count yourselves lucky to get a blog post (sorry, no images) because we're in full calendar & bazaar mode. I've spent quite a few evenings puttering & hustling around preparing for our firs

bottom of page