top of page

Magnolias – Flower Series No. 7

I didn’t know what magnolias were before last spring (and the rising popularity of Chip & Joanna Gaines’ empire). I remember driving down Parkway and seeing this beautiful pink tree with such unique blossoms, but I didn’t know they were magnolias.

With the onslaught of Chip & Joanna Gaines media coverage, the flower has become synonymous with their lifestyle brand. I kinda wish I could say I wasn’t fascinated by their empire, but that would be false. My feelings towards them are like a love-hate relationship–I hate seeing their life and family plastered all over Pinterest and People Magazine, but they do have a great eye for design.

Maybe it is the part of me that wants to be somewhat unique, off-the-wall, unconventional, etc. that makes it hard to admit to liking mainstream things. Does anyone else feel that way? It’s kind of silly and totally justifiable at the same time. For example, I think “I can like whatever I want; I choose what my tastes are” and “Do I like this just because it is popular?”.

See my problem?

Okay, enough philosophy.

Simply put, I enjoy magnolias because of their beauty. Also, they grow on trees, which is really interesting for some reason 🙂

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

November 2019 Update

Hey there! Count yourselves lucky to get a blog post (sorry, no images) because we're in full calendar & bazaar mode. I've spent quite a few evenings puttering & hustling around preparing for our firs

bottom of page