top of page

Shoes: An Ongoing Obsession

MyShoes

Hello Folks!

Hope everyone is doing well! Contrary to my last post, we are actually getting some good weather. It was about 60 degrees today, beautiful out. Seems like every time I do anything, the good ol’ Murphy’s Law is in effect. Great to know. In this case, I am happy to be wrong! The sun is good for your well-being.

As you can see, the picture above is shoes. This is such a cliche, but I love them. I don’t think I’ve gone more than a couple months without getting a new pair. And the best part is discovering good deals at thrift shops and such. (Actually, three of the five pairs up there are second-hand.)

When I get a pair of shoes, I wear them for days on end, until I finally say come on, let them air out a bit! That is the case with the red pair, which I mentioned in my previous post. Even though those shoes were meant for fairer weather, they still got the Wet Weather Treatment (meaning the water/mud soaks through the shoes and your feet are wet and miserable all day long).

But for me, I love having a pair of shoes (or a couple of pairs) for every occasion. Going to school, work, church, out to eat with friends, exercising (cough, cough..), for out in the snow (love my Sorels), etc. Every situation has different requirements. So it isn’t that strange that I have about 25 pairs of shoes.

I was curious of how many shoes the average woman has. So I googled it. These numbers came from here.

  1. Over the course of a woman’s life, she will spend $25,000 on shoes. (That’s the same as a pretty nice car! But really, that is over the course of say, 66 years, because no one buys their shoes all at once, obviously.)

  2. Women usually buy seven or eight pairs of shoes a year.

  3. If each pair of shoes costs roughly $53, that would mean about 470 pairs purchased in all of her life.

Now I am wondering how many pairs of shoes you guys have. Feel free to tell me in the comments!

Until next time,

Caroline

P.S.

Here is a quote I found, from BrainyQuote

“Do not take life too seriously. You will never get out of it alive.” (Elbert Hubbard)

Is that ironic, or what?!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

November 2019 Update

Hey there! Count yourselves lucky to get a blog post (sorry, no images) because we're in full calendar & bazaar mode. I've spent quite a few evenings puttering & hustling around preparing for our firs

bottom of page